Power of Story

When I was a little girl my mom would sit out in the hall, with 3 bedroom doors open, her five children already tucked in, and she would open a book.  As she read to us, Mom would make the story and the characters come alive. She would do different voices, dramatize and make the ink on the page become so much more than printed letters.

I think those nights being told a story are a huge part of why I love story today.  Now I read to my kids, I read for myself, but more than this, I love to learn the stories of the people I encounter.

Humans crave story. Whether in a book, play, song, poem, movie or television, we want feel what the story is saying.  We can learn about ourselves.  We can learn about others. We can escape for a moment in time.

Being open to someone else’s story, if they let you in, is an incredible gift.  I am not a fan of superficial or casual friendships.  I want to KNOW you. Start at the beginning, first grade if necessary.  Knowing a person, and their life, takes bravery, because you will begin to care.  Caring about others outside of ourselves, outside of our bubble, is like putting on glasses for the first time!  The whole world becomes vivid, worthwhile and interesting. And you will care about it.  When you care about something, then you take action. When you care about someone, you start to love, and if the whole world started to care, and love a whole lot more???? A revolution.

With this is mind, I’m going to begin a series on stories of individuals.  Living, breathing, thinking, feeling, individuals, of El Salvador.  Its easy to just read news articles, or hear what the media wants you to hear and believe…. but that is not the real El Salvador.  I always tell people, the real story of El Salvador are the hard working, faithful people who love their country and each other.

Make sure you subscribe over there on the right side bar.  Once a week you will receive a a new story.  I will never flood your inbox.  Be brave, open yourself to someone’s story, you will be so happy you did.

12716395_10207284904514362_7976793031138941208_o{incredible photo credit: Loren Noyes}

 

2 thoughts on “Power of Story

Leave a Reply

